May 25, 2011

  • So long since I had a dream worth remembering. My diaries used to be full of them, fodder for my writing, a conduit for my sanity. The last dream I remember remembering was about flies beneath my skin that I squeezed like zits until their black little heads and wiry legs dotted my face like brail. Last night’s dream was less creepy crawly, more bloody sinister. A siren, a megaphone, a voice shouting through the night; something about a murderer on the loose. “Do not leave your homes. Lock the doors. Lock the windows. Lock up your daughters and DO NOT PANIC.” So like a good little girl in a horror slot, I left my house, disappeared into the night where my labyrinthine dream house I stands. It draws me in every time and I crawl through its miniature corridors and down its vertiginous slopes and up its creaking staircases, twisting my body through too-small doorways and pressing myself into deep corners. I was running. Away from the bloody man. The man with blood on his hands. On his executive-smart suit. He appeared and disappeared like my reflection. I blame TV! I’m addicted to the medical and crime programmes, the blood and the bones, the guts and the gore. Bizarre ER with its sometimes horrendous, sometimes stupid, always bizarre A+E cases; Spiral – the French crime drama just shown on the BBC with its battered prostitutes and murderous pimps; Surgery School – fly on the wall docu about trainee surgeons… Documentaries about ‘Extraordinary Lives’ (you may have seen them in the freakshows in the early 20thcentury), documentaries about disfigurement, documentaries about children’s craniofacial surgery… It’s all there. It’s what I pay my TV license for!

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *