September 10, 2010

  • It’s been… how long? Time flies like an arrow, does it not? Violet is eighteen months old in a week. Now that’s crazy. What have I done since I was last on here three months ago? I’ve had laser eye surgery, I’ve been working on a chapbook by Marc Lowe, and an e-book by Russell Bittner. I’ve finished La Batarde by Violette Leduc (fantastique) and have just started The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, which is kind of contemporary for me, but a friend suggested it and then lent it to me, so I figured I’d give it a go. Also started reading a book by Julia Kristeva, a novelist, translator and therapist. Word play, mind games. Good stuff. I watched L’Illusioniste at Le Cinema! Beautifully animated, hardly a word spoken, all in the gestures. I also watched Mesrine. Vincent Cassell is the epitome of French sexiness.

    So, I did these things without having to wear glasses or contact lenses. My vision is better than 20/20. Or 6/6 I should say. In fact, it’s 666. It’s a bit of a strain on my eyes to focus close-up though, and I find I am reading books at arms length. But it can take months for the eyes to settle, for the surgery to take full effect. The surgery itself was… well, everything you’d expect from having a laser trained at your eyeball. It wasn’t nice. It was noisy (a loud crackling sound as I focused on this pinprick of red light, with a clamp on my eye to keep it open and a constant flood of eye drops), uncomfortable, and later on quite painful. But it was worth it and the discomfort was only for a few seconds. I can wear eye make-up again. I can leave the house that little bit later because I don’t have to mess about trying to insert lenses. I don’t have to fight with Violet to keep my glasses on my face, or keep pushing them up because they slide down my nose, or keep putting them down and losing them.

    I am at work. And I had better get back to it!

Comments (2)

  • Around 1964, in 9th grade, I did a report on lasers and all the possibilities they had, but nobody dreamed they’d be used to cut up people’s eyeballs.

  • I’m rather annoyed that I have to use reading glasses now.  Fortunately, that’s all I need them for… unfortunately, just needing glasses for the purpose of reading is a pain in the ass. 

    The joys of aging. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *